Notice of General Election and Sample Ballots November 5, 2024

Office of the Dane County Clerk To the voters of Dane County

Notice is hereby given of a general election to be held in the several wards in Dane County, on November 5 2024, at which the officers named below shall be chosen. The names of the candidates for each office to be voted for, whose nominations have been certified to or filed in this office, are listed under the title of the office and under the appropriate party or other designation, together with any referendum questions submitted to a vote, in the sample ballot below.

INFORMATION TO VOTERS

Upon entering the polling place and before being permitted to vote, a voter shall:

- state their name and address
- show an acceptable form of photo identification*
- sign the poll book**

*If a voter does not have acceptable photo identification, the voter may obtain a free photo ID for voting from the Division of Motor Vehicles.

**If the voter is unable to sign the poll book due to disability, a poll worker may write the word "exempt."

If a voter is not registered to vote, they may register to vote at the polling place serving their residence if the voter provides proof of residence.

Where ballots are distributed to voters, the initials of two inspectors must appear on the ballot.

Upon being permitted to vote, the voter shall enter a voting booth or go to a machine and cast their ballot. The vote should not be cast in any manner other than specified here. Sample ballots or other materials to assist the voter in marking their ballot may be taken into the booth and copied. The sample ballot shall not be shown to anyone so as to reveal how the ballot is marked.

A voter who is a parent or guardian may be accompanied by the voter's minor child or minor ward.

An election official may inform the voter of the proper manner for casting a vote but the official may not advise or indicate a particular voting choice.

Assistance for Voting

A voter may select an individual to assist in casting their vote if the voter declares to the presiding official that they are unable to read, have difficulty reading, writing, or understanding English, or that due to disability are unable to cast their ballot. The selected individual rendering assistance may not be the voter's employer or an agent of that employer or an officer or agent of a labor organization which represents the voter. If a voter is unable to state their name and address, an assistant may also do so for the voter.

Voting for President and Vice President

A vote for candidates for President and Vice President is a vote for the presidential electors of those candidates. A write-in vote for President and Vice President must designate the name of a presidential candidate. A write-in vote for a candidate for President only will be counted. A write-in vote for a candidate for Vice President only will not be counted.

Where Optical Scan Voting is Used

The voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the name of the candidate of their choice for each

office for which they intend to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall write in the name of the person of their choice in the space provided for a write-in vote and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the write-in line. When voting for President and Vice President, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the set of candidates (ticket) for president and vice president for whom they intend to vote. To vote for a Presidential ticket that does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall write in the names of persons of their choice in the spaces provided and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "posed to the question.

When using an *electronic ballot marking device* ("Express Vote") to mark an **optical scan** ballot, the voter shall touch the screen or use the tactile pad to select the name of the candidate of their choice for each office for which they intend to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall touch the screen next to "write-in" and type in the name of the person of their choice. When voting for President and Vice President, the voter shall touch the screen at the set of candidates (ticket) for president and vice president for whom they intend to vote. To vote for a Presidential ticket that does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall touch the screen next to "write-in" and type in the names of persons of their choice. On referendum questions, the voter shall touch the screen at "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall touch the screen at "no" if opposed to the question.

Spoiling Ballots

If a voter spoils an **optical scan** ballot, they shall return it to an election official who shall issue another ballot in its place, but not more than three ballots shall be issued to any one voter. If the ballot has not been initialed by two inspectors or is defective in any other way, the voter shall return it to the election official who shall issue a proper ballot in its place.

After Voting the Ballot

After an official **optical scan** ballot is marked, it may be inserted in a security sleeve so the marks do not show. The voter shall then insert the ballot in the voting device or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. If a central count system is used, the voter shall insert the ballot in the ballot box or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. The voter shall leave the polling place promptly.

The following is a sample of the official ballot:		
	Scott McDonell Dane County Clerk	

The foregoing ballot contains candidates for Assembly District 46. The following is a complete list of candidates for all Senate and Assembly Districts in Dane County.

State Senator - District 14
Sarah Keyeski (Democratic)
Joan A. Ballweg (Republican)
State Senator - District 16
Melissa Ratcliff (Democratic)
State Senator - District 26
Kelda Helen Roys (Democratic)
State Assembly - District 42
Maureen McCarville (Democratic)
Rebecca Witherspoon (Republican)
State Assembly - District 46
Joan Fitzgerald (Democratic)
Jenifer Quimby (Republican)

Randy Udell (Democratic)

State Assembly – District 48

Andrew Hysell (Democratic)
Lisa Rubrich (Republican)

State Assembly – District 50

Jenna Jacobson (Democratic)

State Assembly – District 51

Elizabeth Grabe (Democratic

Todd Novak (Republican)

State Assembly – District 76

Francesca Hong (Democratic)

State Assembly – District 47

State Assembly – District 77
Renuka Mayadev (Democratic)
State Assembly – District 78
Shelia Stubbs (Democratic)
State Assembly – District 79
Lisa Subeck (Democratic)
State Assembly – District 80
Mike Bare (Democratic)
Robert Relph (Republican)
State Assembly – District 81
Alex Joers (Democratic)